Norman E. Borlaug Excellence in Service to Society and the Environment Award


    Award Winners

  • 2005
    Norman E. BorlaugSasakawa Africa Association
  • 2006
    Steven McKeand
    NC State Dept of Forestry & Environmental Resources
  • 2007
    Paul Mueller
    NC State Dept. of Crop Science
  • 2008
    William Dvorak

    NC State Dept of Forestry & Environmental Resources
  • 2009 - None
  • 2010
    JoAnn Burkholder

    NC State Dept of Plant Biology
  • 2011- None
  • 2012 - None
  • 2013
    Fred Gould
    William Neal Reynolds Professor of Agriculture, NC State univeristy


This award is open to all tenure-track faculty of N.C. State University and is presented annually.

This year's award will be a part of the centennial celebration of the Nobel Laureate Dr. Norman E. Borlaug's life. The award will be presented this spring in conjunction with the lecture given by the awardee. The Distinguished Lecture on Global Service to Society and Environment will be held in the fall.

Faculty members from any of N.C. State’s colleges are eligible for this award, named in honor of the late Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, Nobel Laureate and father of the Green Revolution.

The award recognizes exemplary service to the environment and society in academics, research or service through enhancing global practices, new technologies, impact on students or global communities. The award is intended to recognize accomplishments and to encourage future work.

Nominations are currently being sought for the 2014 Borlaug Award

Award nomination packets are due March 7.
Please send nomination packets to:
Dr. Joel Pawlak, Campus Box 8001, N.C. State University.

Nomination packets should include the following:
• Nominee’s complete CV
• Letter of support from department head, dean, associate or assistant dean or university officer
• Statement from the nominee about the impact of his or her work and future plans
• Letters of support from outside the university are encouraged, but not required. Such letters should describe the impact of the nominee’s accomplishments.

Nominations can originate from individual faculty members on their own behalf or from colleagues at any level of university administration. However, nomination packets must be submitted to the selection committee via the person writing a letter of support (see list above).

The awardee will be asked to deliver a lecture at the presentation of the award in Spring of 2014 and will receive an award certificate, a $1,000 prize, a gift from the selection committee and his or her name engraved on a university plaque.

For information contact John Sabella, CALS,,919.515.2665; or Joel Pawlak, CNR,, 919.515.2890.