Content

 

Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology Faculty

Advanced degree programs within Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology are intercollegiate degree programs co-administered by the College of Natural Resources, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, and College of Veterinary Medicine. This is a listing of all faculty and adjunct faculty associated with the Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology (FWCB) Program at NC State University.

Program Coordinators

Moorman, Christopher E.
Professor and Coordinator of the Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology Program

Director of Graduate Programs
Area of Expertise: Avian Ecology in Forest Systems, Forest and Urban Wildlife Ecology & Management
chris_moorman@ncsu.edu
919-515-5578

Pacifici, Lara

Teaching Assistant Professor

Coordinator of Undergraduate Programs in Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology

Area of Expertise: Undergraduate Education

lara_pacifici@ncsu.edu

919-515-3431

Burke, Cindy
Administrative Assistant
Turner House
cindy_burke@ncsu.edu
919-515-7587

 

Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology Faculty List
Name Title Area of Expertise Contact
Aday, Derek Associate Professor, Fisheries Ecology and Aquatic Science Lab Aquatic ecology and fisheries derek_aday@ncsu.edu
919-513-7568
Borski, Russell J.
Professor,
Department of Biology
Aquaculture, fish endocrinology, molecular biology russell_borski@ncsu.edu
919-515-8105
Buckel, Jeffrey A. Professor, Department of Biology, Center for Marine Sciences and Technology Marine fisheries biology jeffrey_buckel@ncsu.edu
252-222-6341
Collazo, Jaime A. Professor,
Department of Biology
Wetland ecology, avian biology jaime_collazo@ncsu.edu
919-515-8837
Cope, Gregory W. Professor,
Department of Environmental and Molecular Toxicology
Extension Leader and Coordinator of NC State University Agromedicine greg_cope@ncsu.edu
919-515-5296
Correa, Maria Professor,
College of Veterinary Medicine
Zoonotic disease surveillance and control maria_correa@ncsu.edu
919-513-6253
Cubbage, Fred Professor,
Department of Forestry and Environmental Resources
Forest resource policy, forest certification, fred_cubbage@ncsu.edu
919-515-7789
Daniels, Harry V. Associate Professor, Department of Biology Warmwater aquaculture harry_daniels@ncsu.edu
919-515-4589
Degernes, Laura A. Associate Professor, College of Veterinary Medicine Avian medicine and epidemiology laurel_degernes@ncsu.edu
919-513-6346
DePerno, Christopher S. Associate Professor,
Department of Forestry and Environmental Resource
Wildlife ecology, management chris_deperno@ncsu.edu
919-513-7559
Eggleston, David B. Professor and Director of CMAST, Department of Marine, Earth, & Atmospheric Sciences Marine ecology, conservation eggleston@ncsu.edu
919-515-7840
Gardner, Beth Assistant Professor, Department of Forestry and Environmental Resources Quantitative wildlife biology

beth_gardner@ncsu.edu

919-515-7558

Gilliam, James F. Professor,
Department of Biology
Fish ecology, habitat selection and movement james_gilliam@ncsu.edu
919-515-2589
Godwin, John R. Associate Professor, Department of Biology Behavioral & ecological physiology, physiology of fishes, aquaculture john_godwin@ncsu.edu
919-515-2580
Gross, Kevin Associate Professor, Department of Statistics Theoretical models & statistical tools, population and community ecology kevin_gross@ncsu.edu
919-513-4690
Haddad, Nicholas M. William Neal Reynolds Distinguished Professor,
Department of Biology
Ecology, evolution, behavior, conservation biology

nick_haddad@ncsu.edu
919-515-4588

Harms, Craig A. Associate Professor, College of Veterinary Medicine Aquatic, wildlife, and zoologic medicine craig_harms@ncsu.edu
252-222-6339
Hess, George R. Associate Professor,
Department of Forestry and Environmental Resources
Biomathematics, natural resource management, ecology george_hess@ncsu.edu
919-515-7437
Hightower, Joseph E. Professor and Assistant Unit Leader (Fisheries)
NC Cooperative F&W Research Unit, Department of Biology
Fish population dynamics jhightower@ncsu.edu
919-515-8836
Hinshaw, Jeffrey M. Associate Professor and Extension Specialist, Department of Biology Coldwater aquaculture jeff_hinshaw@ncsu.edu
828-684-3562
Kays, Roland Research Associate Professor,
Department of Forestry and Environmental Resources,
Director, Biodiversity & Earth Observation Lab, Nature Research Center, NC Museum of Natural Sciences
Ecology, evolution, and conservation of mammals roland_kays@ncsu.edu
919-707-8250
Kennedy-Stoskopf, Suzanne Research Professor,
College of Veterinary Medicine
Environmental medicine, immunology suzanne_stoskopf
@ncsu.edu

919-513-6278
Kwak, Thomas J. Associate Professor and Unit Leader,
NC Cooperative F&W Research Unit
Department of Biology
Ecology and management of fishes tkwak@ncsu.edu
919-513-2696
Layman, Craig A. Associate Professor, Department of Applied Ecology Coastal ecosystems cal1634@yahoo.com
919-515-6704
Levine, Jay F. Professor,
College of Veterinary Medicine
Population health and pathobiology jay_levine@ncsu.edu
919-513-6397
Mills, L. Scott Professor, Department of Forestry and Environmental Resources Wildlife population ecology scott_mills@ncsu.edu
919-515-4585
Moorman, Christopher E. Coordinator of the Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology Program Director of Graduate Programs, and Professor, Department of Forestry and Environmental Resources Avian Ecology in Forest Systems, Forest and Urban Wildlife Ecology & Management chris_moorman@ncsu.edu
919-515-5578
Nelson, Stacy A.C. Associate Professor, Department of Forestry & Environmental Resources Fisheries, Remote Sensing, GIS technologies stacy_nelson@ncsu.edu
919-513-7162
Pacifici, Krishna Research Assistant Professor, Department of Applied Ecology Quantitative ecology, wildlife ecology krishna_pacifici@ncsu.edu
919-515-4594
Pacifici, Lara Coordinator of Undergraduate Programs in Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology, and Teaching Assistant Professor, Department of Forestry and Environmental Resources Undergraduate Education

lara_pacifici@ncsu.edu

919-515-3431

Peterson, M. Nils Associate Professor, Department of Forestry & Environmental Resources Human dimensions

nils_peterson@ncsu.edu

919-515-7588

Pollock, Kenneth H. Professor,
Department of Biology
Statistics, biomathematics, fish & wildlife biometrics pollock@ncsu.edu
919-515-3514
Rice, James A. Professor and Extension Fisheries Specialist, Department of Biology Aquatic ecology, fish bioenergetics jim_rice@ncsu.edu
919-515-4592
Richardson, Robert Assistant Professor and Extension Specialist, Department of Crop Science Aquatic and non-cropland weed science rob_richardson@ncsu.edu
919-515-5653

Simons, Theodore R. Professor,
Department of Biology
Ornithology and avian ecology ted_simons@ncsu.edu
919-515-2689
Sorenson, Clyde E. Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor of Entomology, Department of Entomology Agriculture-wildlife interactions clyde_sorenson@ncsu.edu
919-515-8427
Stoskopf, Michael K. Professor,
College of Veterinary Medicine
Environmental medicine applied to wildlife, health risk assessment michael_stoskopf
@ncsu.edu

919-513-6279
Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology Adjunct Faculty
Name Title Area of Expertise Contact
Boreman, John Adjunct Professor,
Director, Office of Science and Technology, National Marine Fisheries Service
Marine fisheries John.Boreman@noaa.gov
301-713-2367
Cobb, David T. Adjunct Assistant Professor, Chief, Wildlife Management Division, NC Wildlife Resources Commission Wildlife biology cobbdt@
mail.wildlife.state.nc.us

919-733-7291
Conner, Mark C Adjunct Assistant Professor, Manager, Chesapeake Farms, DuPont Crop Protection Management and ecology of White-tailed deer, and management and ecology of wildlife in agricultural systems 410-778-8402
Dörgeloh, Werner G. Adjunct Associate Professor Wildlife ecology and management wgdorgel@ncsu.edu
919-303-1664
Homyack, Jessica Adjunct Assistant Professor, Wildlife Scientist, Weyerhaeuser NR Company Herpetofauna Ecology jessica.homyack
@weyerhaeuser.com

252-633-7525
Craig Harper Adjunct Associate Professor,
Professor and Extension Wildlife Specialist,
University of Tennessee
Wildlife management, habitat management charper@utk.edu
865-974-7346
Kilgo, John Adjunct Associate Professor, Research Wildlife Biologist, Southern Research Station
USDA Forest Service-Savannah River
Wildlife ecology jkilgo@fs.fed.us
803-725-0561
Laney, R. Wilson Adjunct Assistant Professor, Coordinator, South Atlantic Fisheries Coordination Office, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Aquatic habitat conservation and protection, Fisheries management, Ecology of diadromous species Wilson_Laney@fws.gov
919-515-5019
Loomis, Michael R. Adjunct Associate Professor,
Chief Veterinarian, North Carolina Zoological Park
Zoological medicine mike.loomis@nczoo.org
336-879-7630
Wigley, T. Bently Adjunct Associate Professor,
Manager, Sustainable Forestry and Eastern Wildlife Program
National Council for Air and Stream Improvement
Forest management for wildlife wigley@clemson.edu
864-656-0840

back to top