Skip to main content

Daniel Boren graduated from NC State in 2015 with a degree in Paper Science Engineering,  and a Paper Machine Technology Degree from JAMK University – Finland. We reached out to Daniel to find about his current career, and advice for current students.  Thanks for sharing Daniel!

Experiences at NC State

  • Internship/co-op experience: NCSU Paperlabs – Summer 2002 , Hercules Inc – Summer 2003 , VTT – Winter 2012, Sonoco – Summer 2014
  • Favorite Class: That is a tough one. For sure, it was a paper science class. Paper physics, Win-gems modelling, 360, and wet end chemistry were a few of the classes that taught application of theory. In other words, we talked about the ways we can expect something to happen, then went and tested those theories with lab work. The way these classes tie the theoretical world with reality played a key role in developing my personal understanding.
  • Best memory at State: My freshman year, working with my team to make my first ever sheet of paper. Dr Byrd still has the picture.
  • Worst memory at State: Talking with an instructor of a general topic class and realizing that they couldn’t care less if I understood it or not. That was certainly a rarity that I only ran into twice.
  • Clubs/Hobbies: NCSU Marching Band, NCSU Triathlon Club, NCSU TAPPI, car restoration, world travel.
  • Favorite part of PSE Program: The professors. I’m glad that my favorite wasn’t asked as that would be an impossible answer. They take personal interest in each students success. I saw that not only in my personal experiences with them but in watching them interact with other students. I wanted to succeed and they did what they could to help me along the way. That, to me, speaks volumes to their level of commitment to the development of individual student as well as the program as a whole.
  • Most important thing PSE taught me: I am only limited by my imagination.

Current Career Information

  • Company/job position: International Paper – EPC Manager
  • Years at current job: Since April 2017
  • Favorite part of current job: The fun people I meet. I get to travel and meet lots of people during the projects I work on.
  • Biggest accomplishment in your career: So far, finding myself working for IP Svetogorsk, Russia. It is a role with many responsibilities, many of which I am unfamiliar with and being trusted to meet these challenges has been, to me, a big accomplishment.

Advise for Current Students

  • Internships are the perfect avenue to go and live somewhere new, if only for a short while. Do this and experience the local culture of that place. Make new friends there. These experiences will be invaluable in the future.

Personal Information

  • Hometown: Whiteville, NC
  • Family: Mom is a superhero. That story simply can not be done justice with the amount of space I have to write here. Brian (brother) lives in Houston, TX and Stacy (sister) lives still in Whiteville. I currently live in Imatra, Finland with Henna (wife) and Hertta (doggy).
  • Hobbies/interests: Triathlon, vintage auto restoration, travelling, the making of paper and development of end use products.

Any Other Comments to Share

  • Think of college as the process of developing yourself and not so much as something to do to get a job. If you get the opportunity to study abroad, go. The extra semester/year that it will take will pay dividends and will develop you in ways that staying in one place can’t. Focus more on how to think, how to approach problems and not so much on what to think and memorizing solutions for previous problems. Lastly, never be too busy for friends.

By guest blogger: Manon Macallister