Skip to main content

Check out other Alumni Spotlights and submit yours today!

Jan Morgan graduated from NC State in 2001 with a degree in Pulp and Paper Technology, and Chemical Engineering.  We recently reached out to Jan to find out about her experiences here at NC State, her career and advice for current students.  Thanks for sharing Jan.

Experience at NC Statejan-morgan-college-photo

  • Internship/co-op experience:  Product Development Internship, Summer 1999 – Inland Eastex, Evadale, TX
    Product Development / Process Engineering (Paper Machines), Spring/Summer Co-op – January 2000 – August 2000 – Westvaco, Evadale, TX
  • Favorite Class: – Dr. Heitman’s Senior Papermaking class, Dr. Jameel’s Pulping Process class and Dr. Venditti’s Pulp and Paper Unit Processes class
  • Best memory at State: My best memory at NC State was attending a TAPPI PIMA student summit “somewhere” in Alabama. We stayed in log cabins on a lake and hung out with students from other paper schools. We went on a tour of the mill in Courtland and the NASA Space Center which was only open to our group that evening. I had a great time really getting to know all my NC State classmates from all years.
  • Worst memory at State: My worst memory was the Friday of Spring Break during my senior year. I was in the stock prep group that week in Heitman’s Papermaking class. Since the stock had to be ready to go for the Monday after Spring Break, our group had to stay late that Friday evening to get the stock ready. I watched happy students walking up Dan Allen from the windows of the lab excited to start their Spring Break while I was tearing sheets of pulp.
  • Clubs/hobbies: – TAPPI Student chapter, Delta Zeta Sorority – Alumni Chair, Parliamentarian, Panhellanic Recruitment Rho Chi, Order of Omega, Xi Sigma Pi Honor Forestry Society, Intramural Flag Football – went to National Championship in New Orleans twice with Delta Zeta Sorority and the Waterski Club Team
  • Favorite part of PSE Program:  My favorite part of the PSE program was having a small school inside of a large university. Through this type of setting, I knew my professors, classmates, and some of the industry professionals. I felt like I had a family that was there to see me succeed. I even worked for Jane Howe in the office during my last two years, so I got to learn what made the program operate.
  • Most important thing PSE taught me:  Besides providing an outstanding academic curriculum that continues to provide, the PSE program has also taught me to give back to this same small school inside of a large university. When I give to the Pulp and Paper Foundation, I know exactly where my donation is going and how it will impact the students of today. I see this donation start through a student’s scholarship application, to the student sitting beside me at the annual Foundation meeting banquet, to the student I interview, to the student I mentor during a co-op rotation, to the student I see give their speech during “Meet the Seniors” at the annual Foundation banquet, and to the student that I may work with side by side or as a professional industry peer.

Current Career Information

  • Company/Job position: WestRock – Performance Excellence Lean Six Sigma Master Black Belt
  • Years at Current Job: July 2016, so I have only been in this role for a little over a year
  • Favorite part of Job:  The favorite part of my job is seeing a project lead complete a continuous improvement jan-morgan-current-photoproject from the beginning to the end and watching them gain knowledge/respect of the process. I enjoy seeing the projects hit the bottom line and the impact made towards our mill and company goals
  • Biggest accomplishment in career: The biggest accomplishment in my career would be my current role as a Lean Six Sigma Master Black Belt. This was a promotion that caught me by surprise and it was very exciting to find out the support and approval I had from upper management.

Advise for Current Students

  • Dedication goes a long way. When managers and the rest of the company see your dedication, eventually it does pay off.

Personal Information

  • Hometown: Marion, North Carolina
  • Family: I grew up in the small town of Marion, NC with my Dad who was an Engineering and Maintenance manager for a local textile company, my Mom who was a Junior High School Teacher, and my sister who lives with her family in Charlotte, NC. After graduating, I moved to Beaumont, TX where I met my husband, Jason Morgan, a High School Football / Softball Coach, and Teacher. We got married in 2004 and had our daughter, Jayde in 2009. She is a very outgoing and sassy 2nd grader that keeps us very busy with her swimming, gymnastics, softball, and social schedules! I also have a dog named EJ (Boxer) and a cat named Samson that we treat like our other children.
  • Hobbies/interests:  I cut down on a few hobbies this past year, but I am still very involved in the Texas “Friday Night Lights” supporting my husband’s football team. In the Spring, you will normally find me at a High School Softball game and in the summer, I love attending my daughter’s swim meets.

By guest blogger Taylor Krazuski