Skip to main content

2015 Frederick and Joan Barkalow Distinguished Conservationist Lecture
Wednesday, November 4, 2015, 4:45 – 6PM
Room 124 Dabney Hall, NC State University

Dr. Peter Kareiva
Director, Institute of the Environment and Sustainability



Re-imagining conservation for a prosperous and sustainable planet in 2050


Nature has the power to inspire and refresh all humans.  But conservation has suffered from rigid memes, doom-and gloom narratives, and resistance to change in a way that inhibits our ability to get to a 2050 world that has wild nature and thriving human communities. Just as corporations damage the planet by focusing too narrowly on short-term gains, environmentalists fail to create a great future because they too focus on short term gains.

Download flyer | Campus map of Dabney Hall


Peter Kareiva is the Director of the Institute of the Environment and Sustainability (or IoES) at UCLA.  Prior to that, he was Chief Scientist at The Nature Conservancy for a dozen years, Director of the Division of Conservation Biology at NOAA’s fisheries lab in Seattle for three years, and a Professor of Zoology at the University of Washington for twenty years.  Peter began his career as a mathematical biologist who also did fieldwork on plants and insects around the world. His early work focused on ecological theory and he gradually shifted to agriculture, biotechnology, risk assessment, and conservation.  He now mixes policy and social science with natural science, and further believes that today’s environmental challenges require a strong dose of the humanities and private sector engagement.  Never by himself, but with terrific colleagues and the support of generous philanthropists, he cofounded the Natural Capital Project (, NatureNet Fellows (, and Science for Nature and People or SNAP (

He has written or edited nine books and nearly 200 articles, including a conservation biology textbook.  He is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and a member of the National Academy of Science. It all began with education at a Jesuit High School in upstate New York, followed by Duke University, and a PhD from Cornell University in 1981.  There were interludes of consulting for engineering firms and for FAO and UNEP, and some teaching overseas—always driven by a certain wanderlust.

About the Frederick and Joan Barkalow Distinguished Conservationist Lecture

This lecture was created to honor Dr. Fred Barkalow’s 37 years of dedicated public service to conservation of natural resources in NC and the nation. To recognize his career achievements, Fred was presented with US Department of Interior Public Service Award, and was the first inductee into the NC Conservation Hall Of Fame. As a founder of NCSU’s wildlife program, zoology department head, dedicated teacher, in field and classroom, Fred enthusiastically promoted wildlife conservation and mentored generations of students at State. Fred & Joan Barkalow’s living legacy to students & the conservation community is this lecture series, intended to attract the world’s leading scientists/wildlife biologists & conservationists to the NC State Campus in order provide students with informed exposure to science and policy challenges. The series is broad spectrum because to succeed, conservation requires a balance of science, philosophy/ ethics & activism metered by history; a sense of how/why we got to where we are. Fred laid the foundations for our stellar Wildlife & Fisheries program at NCSU, and to provide for this lecture in perpetuity was Fred and Joan’s dream. That this dream is being realized is illustrated by the speakers roll.

Recent Barkalow Lecture Speakers:

Barkalow Lecture Speakers 1980-2013

1980 – Tom Kimball 1996 – David Ehrenfeld
1981 – Frank Belrose 1997 – A.R.E. Sinclair
1982 – Lloyd Keith 1998 – Fred Guthery
1983 – Dale Mccullough 1999 – Curt Meine
1984 – Valerius Geist 2000 – Randall Eaton
1985 – David Western 2001 – Margaret Lowman
1986 – Dennis Raveling 2002 – W. Carter Johnson
1987 – Larry Jahn 2003 – Edwin Phillip Pister
1988 – David Mech 2004 – Jaimie Clark
1989 – F. Eugene Hester 2005 – Luigi Boitani
1990 – Peter Myers 2007 – Shane Mahoney
1991 – Leigh Fredrickson 2009 – Ian Stirling
1992 – Ulysses Seal 2010 – Joel Berger
1993 – Lynn Greenwalt 2011 – Zeb Hogan
1994 – Charles E. Meslow 2012 – Paul Krausman
1995 – James Teer 2013 – Mary C. Freeman