Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology Program Directory

Advanced degrees within Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology are intercollegiate programs co-administered by the College of Natural Resources, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, College of Sciences, and College of Veterinary Medicine. Below is the list of all faculty and adjunct faculty associated with the Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology (FWCB) Program at NC State University.

Learn more on our Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology Program Page

Program Coordinators

Chris DePerno
Professor, Program Coordinator and Liaison
Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology Program
Area of Expertise: wildlife ecology, management
chris_deperno@ncsu.edu, 919-513-7559

Lara Pacifici
Teaching Associate Professor, and Coordinator of Undergraduate Programs
Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology Program
Area of Expertise: Undergraduate Education in wildlife and conservation biology
lara_pacifici@ncsu.edu, 919-515-3431

Nils Peterson
Professor, and Coordinator of Graduate Programs
Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology Program
Area of Expertise: Intersections between human and natural systems
nils_peterson@ncsu.edu, 919-515-7588


Cindy Burke

Program Administrative Assistant
cindy_burke@ncsu.edu, 919-515-7587

Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology Faculty

 

Name Title Area of Expertise Contact
Derek Aday Professor and Department Head, Department of Applied Ecology Aquatic ecology and fisheries derek_aday@ncsu.edu
919-513-7568
Jeffrey A. Buckel Professor, Department of Applied Ecology, CMAST Marine fisheries biology jeffrey_buckel@ncsu.edu
252-222-6341
Cao, Jie Assistant Professor, Department of Applied Ecology Fish population dynamics and ecosystem modelling Jcao22@ncsu.edu

 

David T. Cobb Adjunct Assistant Professor, and Chief, Wildlife Management Division, NC Wildlife Resources Commission Wildlife biology cobbdt@
mail.wildlife.state.nc.us

919-733-7291
Jaime A. Collazo Professor, Department of Applied Ecology Wetland ecology, avian biology jaime_collazo@ncsu.edu
919-515-8837
Caren Cooper Research Associate Professor Department of Forestry and Environmental Resources Wildlife Biology, Citizen Science cbcoope3@ncsu.edu

919-707-9273

W. Gregory Cope Professor, Department of Applied Ecology, Toxicology Extension Professor and Toxicology Extension Leader greg_cope@ncsu.edu
919-515-5296
Maria Correa Professor, Department of Population Health and Pathobiology Zoonotic disease surveillance and control maria_correa@ncsu.edu
919-513-6253
Fred Cubbage Professor, Department of Forestry and Environmental Resources Forest resource policy, forest certification, fred_cubbage@ncsu.edu
919-515-7789
Laurel Degernes Professor, Department of Clinical Sciences Avian medicine and epidemiology laurel_degernes@ncsu.edu
919-513-6346
Christopher S. DePerno Coordinator, Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology Program,  and Professor, Department of Forestry and Environmental Resources Wildlife ecology, management chris_deperno@ncsu.edu
919-513-7559
Rob Dunn Professor, Department of Applied Ecology Public science; ecology, evolution and biodiversity of humans and food rob_dunn@ncsu.edu, 919-513-7569
David B. Eggleston Professor and Director of CMAST, Department of Marine, Earth, & Atmospheric Sciences Marine ecology, conservation eggleston@ncsu.edu
919-515-7840
Jesse Fischer Assistant Research Professor, Department of Applied Ecology Fish ecology, management and conservation jrfische@ncsu.edu
Kevin Gross Professor, Department of Statistics and Department of Applied Ecology Theoretical models & statistical tools, population and community ecology kevin_gross@ncsu.edu
919-513-4690
Craig Harms Associate Professor, Department of Clinical Sciences, CMAST Aquatic, wildlife, and zoologic medicine craig_harms@ncsu.edu
252-222-6339
Tara Harrison Assistant Professor, Department of Clinical Sciences Global health and infectious diseases in zoological and exotic animals Tara_harrison@ncsu.edu, 919-513-7350
George Hess Professor, Department of Forestry and Environmental Resources Biomathematics, natural resource management, ecology george_hess@ncsu.edu
919-515-7437
Jeffrey M. Hinshaw Professor and Extension Specialist, Department of Biology Coldwater aquaculture jeff_hinshaw@ncsu.edu
828-684-3562
Madhu Katti Associate Professor, Department of Forestry and Natural Resources Interdisciplinary Ecology mkatti@ncsu.edu

919-515-7586

Roland Kays Research Professor, Department of Forestry and Environmental Resources, Director, Biodiversity & Earth Observation Lab, Nature Research Center, NC Museum of Natural Sciences Ecology, evolution, and conservation of mammals roland_kays@ncsu.edu
919-707-8250
Suzanne Kennedy-Stoskopf Research Professor, Department of Clinical Sciences Environmental medicine, immunology suzanne_stoskopf
@ncsu.edu

919-513-6278
Thomas Kwak Unit Leader, NC Cooperative Fish & Wildlife Research Unit, and Professor, Department of Applied Ecology Ecology and management of fishes tkwak@ncsu.edu
919-513-2696
Randall Langerhans Associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences Evolutionary diversification of Gambusia fish langerhans@ncsu.edu, 919-515-3514
Lincoln Larson Assistant Professor, Department of Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management Human dimension of natural resource management lrlarson@ncsu.edu
919-515-8947
Jay F. Levine Professor, Department of Population Health and Pathobiology Population health and pathobiology jay_levine@ncsu.edu
919-513-6397
Michael R. Loomis Adjunct Associate Professor, and Chief Veterinarian, North Carolina Zoological Park Zoological medicine mike.loomis@nczoo.org
336-879-7630
Kathryn Meurs Associate Dean, College of Veterinary Medicine Genetics, spontaneous animal disease models Kate_meurs@ncsu.edu, 919-513-6213
Christopher Moorman Interim Associate Department Head and Professor, Department of Forestry and Environmental Resources Avian Ecology in Forest Systems, Forest and Urban Wildlife Ecology & Management chris_moorman@ncsu.edu
919-515-5578
Stacy A.C. Nelson Professor, Department of Forestry & Environmental Resources Fisheries, Remote Sensing, GIS technologies stacy_nelson@ncsu.edu
919-513-7162
Krishna Pacifici Assistant Professor, Department of Forestry and Environmental Resources Quantitative ecology, wildlife ecology krishna_pacifici@ncsu.edu
919-515-8435
Lara Pacifici Coordinator of Undergraduate Programs, Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology Program, and Teaching Associate Professor, Department of Forestry and Environmental Resources Undergraduate Education lara_pacifici@ncsu.edu
919-515-3431
M. Nils Peterson Director of Graduate Programs, Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology, and Professor, Department of Forestry & Environmental Resources Human dimensions nils_peterson@ncsu.edu
919-515-7588
Olivia Petritz Assistant Professor, Department of Clinical Sciences Avian and exotic animal medicine oapetrit@ncsu.edu
Alonso Ramirez Professor, Department of Applied Ecology Tropical stream ecosystem dynamics Laramir2@ncsu.edu

919-515-5100

Leah Rathbun Assistant Professor, Forestry & Environmental Resources Forest biometrics lrathb@ncsu.edu

 

Benjamin Reading Assistant Professor, Applied Ecology Reproductive physiology and aquaculture of fishes 919-515-3830

bjreadin@ncsu.edu

Martha Reiskind Assistant Research Professor, Applied Ecology Use of genetic tools in conservation mbreiski@ncsu.edu
James A. Rice Extension Fisheries Specialist, and Professor, Department of Applied Ecology Aquatic ecology, fish bioenergetics jim_rice@ncsu.edu
919-515-4592
Robert Richardson Associate Professor and Extension Specialist, Department of Crop Science Aquatic and non-cropland weed science rob_richardson@ncsu.edu
919-515-5653
Ann Ross Professor, Biological Sciences Forensic anthropology 919-515-3122

ann_ross@ncsu.edu

Robert Scheller Professor, Department of Forestry and Environmental Resources Forecasts of landscape change in response to disturbance rschell@ncsu.edu
919-513-3973
Clyde Sorenson Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor, Department of Entomology Agriculture-wildlife interactions clyde_sorenson@ncsu.edu
919-515-8427
Kathryn Stevenson Assistant Professor, Parks, Recreation and Tourism Mgt Identifying drivers of environmental literacy 919-515-2739

kathryn_stevenson@ncsu.edu

Michael Stoskopf Professor, Department of Clinical Sciences Environmental medicine applied to wildlife, health risk assessment michael_stoskopf
@ncsu.edu

919-513-6279
Bradley Taylor Assistant Professor, Applied Ecology Freshwater ecosystems 919-513-7037

bwtaylo3@ncsu.edu

Walker, Kara Research Assistant Professor, Department of Clinical Sciences Wildlife health, behavioral ecology, evolution, primates kkwalker@ncsu.edu
Elsa Youngsteadt Assistant Professor, Department of Applied Ecology Urbanization-climate change interactions ekyoungs@ncsu.edu

919-515-1661