Skip to main content

Advanced degree programs within Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology are intercollegiate degree programs co-administered by the College of Natural Resources, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, College of Sciences, and College of Veterinary Medicine. Below is the list of all faculty and adjunct faculty associated with the Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology (FWCB) Program at NC State University.

Chris MoormanChristopher Moorman
Professor, Program Director, and Coordinator of Graduate Programs
Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology Program
Area of Expertise: Global change and wildlife, forest wildlife management, urban wildlife ecology
chris_moorman@ncsu.edu, 919-515-5578

 

Lara PacificiLara Pacifici
Teaching Assistant Professor, and Coordinator of Undergraduate Programs
Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology Program
Area of Expertise: Undergraduate Education in wildlife and conservation biology
lara_pacifici@ncsu.edu, 919-515-3431


Burke, Cindy

Program Administrative Assistant
cindy_burke@ncsu.edu, 919-515-7587

Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology Faculty List
Name Title Area of Expertise Contact
Derek Aday Associate Professor, Department of Applied Ecology Aquatic ecology and fisheries derek_aday@ncsu.edu
919-513-7568
Russell J. Borski Professor, Department of Biological Sciences Aquaculture, fish endocrinology, molecular biology russell_borski@ncsu.edu
919-515-8105
Jeffrey A. Buckel Professor, Department of Applied Ecology, CMAST Marine fisheries biology jeffrey_buckel@ncsu.edu
252-222-6341
Jaime A. Collazo Professor, Department of Applied Ecology Wetland ecology, avian biology jaime_collazo@ncsu.edu
919-515-8837
Caren Cooper Research Associate Professor Department of Forestry and Environmental Resources Wildlife Biology, Citizen Science

cbcoope3@ncsu.edu

919-707-9273

W. Gregory Cope Professor, Department of Applied Ecology, Toxicology Extension Professor and Toxicology Extension Leader greg_cope@ncsu.edu
919-515-5296
Maria Correa Professor, Department of Population Health and Pathobiology Zoonotic disease surveillance and control maria_correa@ncsu.edu
919-513-6253
Fred Cubbage Professor, Department of Forestry and Environmental Resources Forest resource policy, forest certification, fred_cubbage@ncsu.edu
919-515-7789
Harry V. Daniels Professor and Head, Department of Applied Ecology Warmwater aquaculture harry_daniels@ncsu.edu
919-515-4589
Laurel Degernes Professor, Department of Clinical Sciences Avian medicine and epidemiology laurel_degernes@ncsu.edu
919-513-6346
Christopher S. DePerno Professor, Department of Forestry and Environmental Resource Wildlife ecology, management chris_deperno@ncsu.edu
919-513-7559
David B. Eggleston Professor and Director of CMAST, Department of Marine, Earth, & Atmospheric Sciences Marine ecology, conservation eggleston@ncsu.edu
919-515-7840
James F. Gilliam Professor, Department of Biological Sciences Fish ecology, habitat selection and movement james_gilliam@ncsu.edu
919-515-2589
John Godwin Professor, Department of Biological Sciences Behavioral neuroendocrinology and neurogenomics john_godwin@ncsu.edu
919-515-2580
Kevin Gross Associate Professor, Department of Statistics Theoretical models & statistical tools, population and community ecology kevin_gross@ncsu.edu
919-513-4690
Nicholas M. Haddad William Neal Reynolds Distinguished Professor, Department of Biological Sciences Ecology, evolution, behavior, conservation biology nick_haddad@ncsu.edu
919-515-4588
Craig Harms Associate Professor, Department of Clinical Sciences, CMAST Aquatic, wildlife, and zoologic medicine craig_harms@ncsu.edu
252-222-6339
George Hess Professor, Department of Forestry and Environmental Resources Biomathematics, natural resource management, ecology george_hess@ncsu.edu
919-515-7437
Joseph E. Hightower Assistant Unit Leader, NC Cooperative Fish & Wildlife Research Unit, and Professor, Department of Applied Ecology Fish population dynamics jhightower@ncsu.edu
919-515-8836
Jeffrey M. Hinshaw Associate Professor and Extension Specialist, Department of Biology Coldwater aquaculture jeff_hinshaw@ncsu.edu
828-684-3562
Madhu Katti Associate Professor, Department of Forestry and Natural Resources Interdisciplinary Ecology

mkatti@ncsu.edu

919-515-7586

Roland Kays Research Associate Professor,
Department of Forestry and Environmental Resources,
Director, Biodiversity & Earth Observation Lab, Nature Research Center, NC Museum of Natural Sciences
Ecology, evolution, and conservation of mammals roland_kays@ncsu.edu
919-707-8250
Suzanne Kennedy-Stoskopf Research Professor, Department of Clinical Sciences Environmental medicine, immunology suzanne_stoskopf
@ncsu.edu

919-513-6278
Thomas Kwak Unit Leader, NC Cooperative Fish & Wildlife Research Unit, and Professor, Department of Applied Ecology Ecology and management of fishes tkwak@ncsu.edu
919-513-2696
Craig A. Layman Associate Professor, Department of Applied Ecology Coastal ecosystems cal1634@yahoo.com
919-515-6704
Jay F. Levine Professor, Department of Population Health and Pathobiology Population health and pathobiology jay_levine@ncsu.edu
919-513-6397
Christopher Moorman Coordinator and Director of Graduate Programs, Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology Program, and Professor, Professor, Department of Forestry and Environmental Resources Avian Ecology in Forest Systems, Forest and Urban Wildlife Ecology & Management chris_moorman@ncsu.edu
919-515-5578
Stacy A.C. Nelson Associate Professor, Department of Forestry & Environmental Resources Fisheries, Remote Sensing, GIS technologies stacy_nelson@ncsu.edu
919-513-7162
Krishna Pacifici Assistant Professor, Department of Forestry and Environmental Resources Quantitative ecology, wildlife ecology krishna_pacifici@ncsu.edu
919-515-8435
Lara Pacifici Coordinator of Undergraduate Programs, Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology Program, and Teaching Assistant Professor, Department of Forestry and Environmental Resources Undergraduate Education lara_pacifici@ncsu.edu
919-515-3431
M. Nils Peterson Associate Professor, Department of Forestry & Environmental Resources Human dimensions nils_peterson@ncsu.edu
919-515-7588
Kenneth H. Pollock Professor, Department of Applied Ecology Statistics, biomathematics, fish & wildlife biometrics pollock@ncsu.edu
919-515-3514
James A. Rice Extension Fisheries Specialist, and Professor, Department of Applied Ecology Aquatic ecology, fish bioenergetics jim_rice@ncsu.edu
919-515-4592
Robert Richardson Associate Professor and Extension Specialist, Department of Crop Science Aquatic and non-cropland weed science rob_richardson@ncsu.edu
919-515-5653
Theodore R. Simons Assistant Unit Leader, NC Cooperative Fish & Wildlife Research Unit, and Professor,
Department of Applied Ecology
Avian ecology, wildlife biology, conservation biology ted_simons@ncsu.edu
919-515-2689
Clyde Sorenson Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor, Department of Entomology Agriculture-wildlife interactions clyde_sorenson@ncsu.edu
919-515-8427
Michael Stoskopf Professor, Department of Clinical Sciences Environmental medicine applied to wildlife, health risk assessment michael_stoskopf
@ncsu.edu

919-513-6279

Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology Adjunct Faculty List
Name Title Area of Expertise Contact
John Boreman Adjunct Professor, and Director, Office of Science and Technology, National Marine Fisheries Service Marine fisheries John.Boreman@noaa.gov
301-713-2367
David T. Cobb Adjunct Assistant Professor, and Chief, Wildlife Management Division, NC Wildlife Resources Commission Wildlife biology cobbdt@
mail.wildlife.state.nc.us

919-733-7291
Werner Dörgeloh Adjunct Associate Professor Wildlife ecology and management wgdorgel@ncsu.edu
919-303-1664
Craig Harper Adjunct Associate Professor, and Professor and Extension Wildlife Specialist, University of Tennessee Wildlife management, habitat management charper@utk.edu
865-974-7346
Jessica Homyack Adjunct Assistant Professor, and Wildlife Scientist, Weyerhaeuser NR Company Herpetofauna Ecology jessica.homyack
@weyerhaeuser.com

252-633-7525
John Kilgo Adjunct Associate Professor, and Research Wildlife Biologist, Southern Research Station, US Forest Service – Savannah River Wildlife ecology jkilgo@fs.fed.us
803-725-0561
R. Wilson Laney Adjunct Assistant Professor, and Coordinator, South Atlantic Fisheries Coordination Office, US Fish and Wildlife Service Aquatic habitat conservation, fisheries management, ccology of diadromous species Wilson_Laney@fws.gov
919-515-5019
Michael R. Loomis Adjunct Associate Professor, and Chief Veterinarian, North Carolina Zoological Park Zoological medicine mike.loomis@nczoo.org
336-879-7630
T. Bently Wigley Adjunct Associate Professor, and Manager, Sustainable Forestry and Eastern Wildlife Program, National Council for Air and Stream Improvement Forest management for wildlife wigley@clemson.edu
864-656-0840