Skip to main content

Lifetime Achievement Award

Each year the Department of Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management recognizes an individual who has made sustained outstanding contributions to the parks, recreation, tourism or sport profession at the state, national, or international level. This special recognition was established to recognize individuals who are not graduates of PRTM at NC State. The award is designed to recognize individuals who are not graduates of the NC State Department of Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management. Recipients must be a practicing professional for at least twenty (20) years.

Introducing 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

Deborah A. Yow, Athletic Director of NC State UniversityPicture of Deborah Yow

The award was presented to Debbie during the PRTM Alumni & Friends Spring Celebration on Thursday, April 11 at Pullen Park.

When Deborah A. Yow was hired to be NC State’s director of athletics on June 25, 2010, her goal was to make the department she inherited one of the best in the nation.In nine years, she has taken many steps to accomplish that goal by recalibrating competitive and academic expectations. Working closely with her senior staff, she has ensured that financial resources for teams have improved dramatically and that coaches are encouraged to recruit the best prospects available – in both character and competitive achievement.

Read more of Deborah Yow’s Bio

See a list of previous winners:

The Lifetime Achievement Award Archive