Skip to main content
Year Name Professional Position
2015 Jennifer Zuckerman Strategic Partnership Director, BCBS of NC Foundation
2014 Jim Wall Vice President & Owner, Challenge Designs Innovations, Inc.
2013 Ray Tanner Athletics Director, University of South Carolina
Spring 2012 Linda L. Caldwell Distinguished Professor, The Pennsylvanian State University
Fall 2010 Jan Warren-Parker Director, Craven County Parks & Recreation
Spring 2010 Ingrid Wicker-McCree Athletic Director, NC Central University
2009 Neal Lewis Director, New Hanover County Parks
2008 Lindsay Dunevant Consultant, Recreation Resources Service, NCSU
2007 Larry  Bailey Director, Clayton NC Department of Parks & Recreation
2006 Derek Williams President, Site Solutions, Charlotte, NC
2005 Dr. Michael Wise Professor, Dept. of Recreation, Parks & Sport Mgmt., VCU
2004 William Irby Brinson, Jr. Director, Asheville, Parks & Recreation
2003 Susan Walston Chief of Staff, City Manager’s Office, Virginia Beach, VA
2002 Kent Montgomery Director, Wilson NC Parks and Recreation
2002 William Britt Administrator, Greensboro, NC Parks and Recreation
2001 Harold T. Owens City Manager, Burlington, NC
2000 Thomas R. Wells Superintendent, NC State Parks
1999 Charlotte Farris Instructor, Carteret Community College
1998 David Carter Director, Wake Co., NC Parks & Recreation
1997 Boyd Lee Jr. Director, Greenville, NC Parks and Recreation
1996 Dr. Beth Wilson Assoc. Dept. Head; Parks, Recreation & Tourism Mgmt, NCSU
1995 Alex Gilleski Director, Durham, NC Parks and Recreation
1994 Darrell Winslow Director, Northern Virginia Regional Park Authority
1993 Barry Tindall Director of Public Policy, National Parks & Recreation Association